Radius: Off
Radius:
km Set radius for geolocation
Search

 KickstArt Presents

Sleeping Beauty

Directed by Steven Stead, with musical direction by Evan Roberts, set and costume designs by Greg King; and lighting by Tina le Roux.

Sleeping Beauty Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre: 2 Dec 2016 to 8 Jan 2017KZN’s premier theatre producers, the multi-award winning KickstArt, is delighted to present their much-anticipated contribution to the festive season, the traditional sumptuous family pantomime, Sleeping Beauty, which comes to the Elizabeth Sneddon theatre on UKZN campus from 2 December until 8 January.

Inspired by the Disney musical fantasy film, Frozen, this magical tale unfolds in a chilly Scandinavian country: all Gothic towers, wreathed with snow, crystal and ice.

“We have used an ice colour palette for the decor, costumes and sets – using lots of turquoise, aquamarine, silver and whites, and a recurring snowflake motif,” explains designer Greg King.

“We consciously have different themes and feels for our pantos,” explains writer / director Steven Stead,” For example, last year for Aladdin the production was full of spectacle, this year for Sleeping Beauty, our theme is magic and romance. It promises to be an enchanting magical adventure for all ages,” he enthuses.

It stars Haylea Hounsom as Princess Rose, with Lyle Buxton as her handsome prince, Robin. Carol Trench makes another rare and very welcome return to the Durban stage to play her hilarious and anxiety-ridden mother, Queen Dot, and Peter Court plays her lugubrious, hard-of-hearing father, King Frotho the Frosty. Darren King and Graeme Wicks provide masses of humour as Nurse Nora Knickersnagger and Hucleby Hopscotch the court jester, and Bryan Hiles reaches new levels of charming silliness as the cowardly knight, Sir Ninnyliver. The magical forces of good and evil are splendidly represented by the effervescent Belinda Henwood as Celestina Sparkle, and Katy Moore as the deliciously evil Maleficent. Joining the cast is a chorus of dancers.

Where?

Elizabeth Sneddon Theatre: 2 Dec 2016 to 8 Jan 2017

Ticket Prices 

Adults: R220 / R170 / R150

Children / pensioners: R170 / R150 / R120

Previews: 7pm shows on Fri 2 Dec and Sat 3 Dec: R120 throughout

Booking

Book for all 2016 shows at Computicket: www.computicket.co.za.
For block bookings contact Ailsa Windsor of Going Places:

Email: editor.goingplacessa@gmail.com,
or
Phone: 083 250 2690.

Performances

 

Sleeping Beauty runs from 2 Dec to 8 Jan, with performances at 2.30pm Tues-Sun, 7pm Fri.

There are no shows on a Monday. No performances Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Year’s Day.

  • Friday, 2 December 2016                    7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 3 December 2016                2:30 pm     and    7:00pm
  • Sunday, 4 December 2016                  2:30 pm
  • Monday, 5 December 2016 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Tuesday, 6 December 2016                11:00 am                Schools Performance
  • Wednesday, 7 December 2016           7:00 pm                  Press Night
  • Thursday, 8 December 2016               11:00 am                Schools Performance
  • Friday, 9 December 2016                    2:30 pm     and       7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 10 December 2016             2:30 pm
  • Sunday, 11 December 2016                2:30pm
  • Monday, 12 December 2016 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Tuesday, 13 December 2016              2:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 14 December 2016         2:30 pm
  • Thursday, 15 December 2016             2:30 pm
  • Friday, 16 December 2016                  2:30 pm     and      7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 17 December 2016             2:30 pm
  • Sunday, 18 December 2016               2:30 pm
  • Monday, 19 December 2016 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Tuesday, 20 December 2016             2:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 21 December 2016        2:30 pm
  • Thursday, 22 December 2016            2:30 pm
  • Friday, 23 December 2016                 2:30 pm     and       7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 24 December 2016            2:30 pm
  • Sunday, 25 December 2016 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Monday, 26 December 2016 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Tuesday, 27 December 2016            2:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 28 December 2016       2:30 pm     and      7:00 pm
  • Thursday, 29 December 2016           2:30pm
  • Friday, 30 December 2016                2:30 pm     and      7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 31 December 2016            2:30 pm

January 2017

  • Sunday, 1 January 2017 -NO PERFORMANCE
  • Monday, 2 January 2017 – NO PERFORMANCE
  • Tuesday, 3 January 2017                    2:30 pm
  • Wednesday, 4 January 2017               2:30 pm
  • Thursday, 5 January 2017                   2:30 pm
  • Friday, 6 January 2017                        2:30 pm     and       7:00 pm
  • Saturday, 7 January 2017                    2:30 pm
  • Sunday, 8 January 2017 2:30 pm Final

 38 Performances

Location: Array

More Year Round Activities

Loading…